top of page

From Start to Ph(inishe)D

On this day...

Five years ago: I was sorting out the application to start my PhD

Last year: I was frantically writing up my thesis (with submission less than a month away!)

Today: I graduated with my PhD!

My sister and I have had the privilege of being able to pursue our higher studies, thanks to the choice my parents made in the early 2000s to migrate to New Zealand. I am forever thankful for all the sacrifices they made. They led by example, with Ammi [Mum] studying for a BEd full-time, with two young kids, and Thaththi [Dad] pursuing his higher studies, while working full-time, to show us the value of hard work in achieving goals. They inspired us to follow our passions.

A lot has happened through the past six years.

This PhD has been the hardest thing I have done. My PhD journey, like that of so many others, was filled with highs and lows, and twists and turns. Through the past few years, I have been lucky enough to have some incredible opportunities to travel and share my research, and even receive some accolades in recognition of my work. I have had the chance to work and collaborate with inspiring scientists. I have also been constantly reminded about how privileged we are as scientists to contribute positively to society and to a better future.

Of course there has also been tears and frustration through the last few years too. Science is a hard beast to master! There is now growing literature on the prevalence of mental health issues that PhD students face in academia. Initially, I did not have the correct tools to deal with the anxieties I encountered. I bottled things up and isolated myself, from family, friends, work colleagues, and supervisors, which made it even more difficult to deal with the challenges I was facing in my project. However, when I finally sought out professional help (on my parents encouragement!) it was like seeing a light at the end of the tunnel. I learned the importance of self-care, gained tools for effective communication, and learned to recognise burn-out and steps required to prevent it.

So, this PhD gave me more than just the skills I acquired in the lab. I have gained tools to ensure that I live a better-balanced life, and I have learned the art of being resilient.

Of course, this PhD would not have been possible without my amazing family and wonderful friends and colleagues, who stuck by me through thick and thin. I am grateful to be blessed with such a wonderful support network.

Today was a beautiful day to commemorate the end of an era. I am glad I get to share this moment with you!

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page